We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.


A programme with a history of developing world class athletes

Men's Club Captain: Charlie Nicholls -

Women's Club Captain: Hannah Knowles -

The Durham University Cricket programme recognises that the development of the individual, both as a player and as a person, is the key to continuing success. Every player is unique and, as such, our programme reflects this.

The Durham MCC University programme provides male and female students with the opportunity to combine academic and sporting excellence. Durham was the first MCC University to be established and is now one of six programmes throughout England and Wales. In addition we are just one of four universities to have First Class County Cricket status and compete against at least three County sides every season.
The Racecourse Ground, the home of Durham University Cricket, is internationally famous, having acted as the first class base for Durham CCC in advance of the Riverside Ground being completed. The success of Durham University Cricket over a long period of time has been phenomenal. Our men have been National University Champions no fewer than 18 times, whilst the women have two National University titles to their name. Success at second and third team level has also been equally impressive.
The current men’s competition programme includes Three Day matches against First Class County sides, a Two Day MCC Universities Championship and a One Day British Universities Championship whilst the women play in British Universities and County league competition.