Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Sports Trials and Tasters

Club Trials & Taster Sessions

Many of our university clubs hold trials during the first few days of term. We would encourage you to come to the Sports Fair so that you can sign up but, if for whatever reason you miss the Fair, you can still attend a university trial. Please keep looking at the below list. As we get closer to term time our captains will confirm their trials and we will advertise the times, dates and venues on this page.

If your club's trial times are yet to be confirmed keep checking here or send them an email!

Sport Date Time Location Contact
American Football 7th October 1600-1800 Maiden Castle 3G2 Joe Partington (joseph.d.partington@durham.ac.uk)
Archery 5th October (Taster) 2000-2200 Hild Bede West Gym James Lawton (james.e.lawton@durham.ac.uk)
7th October (Taster) 1600-1800
8th October (Taster) 1100-1300
Badminton 6th October 2000-2200 Maiden Castle Sports Hall Fern Osborne (fern.osborne@durham.ac.uk)
7th October 1000-1200
Basketball (m) 5th October 1400-1600 Maiden Castle Sports Hall George Greenhaugh (george.greenhaugh@durham.ac.uk) or Alex Bradley (alex.bradley@durham.ac.uk)
Basketball (w) 5th October 1800-2200 Maiden Castle Sports Hall (Court A)
Boxing 9th October (fitness) 1800-1900 Hild Bede East Gym Will Grinstead (william.j.grinstead@durham.ac.uk)
10th October (fitness) 1800-1900
12th October (technique/sparring) 2000-2130
13th October (technique/sparring) 2000-2130
15th October (technique/sparring) 1100-1230
Canoes (Online Sign Up) TBC TBC Maiden Castle Boathouse Max Topp-Mugglestone (canoe.club@durham.ac.uk)
TBC TBC
TBC TBC
TBC TBC
TBC TBC
TBC TBC Holliday Building, Stockton
Cheerleading 8th October 1300-1600 Freeman's Quay Leisure Centre Izzy Mclure (isobel.mclure@durham.ac.uk)
Clay Pigeon TBC TBC Oaklodge Shooting Ground Charlie Drew (charlie.drew@durham.ac.uk)
Cricket (w) 13th October 1100-1330 Maiden Castle Sports Hall Hannah Knowles (hannah.f.knowles@durham.ac.uk)
Cycling 11th October 1400 The New Inn James Molony (james.a.molony@durham.ac.uk)
Equestrian TBC TBC Stainsby Grange Rosalie Speeckaert (rosalie.c.speeckaert@durham.ac.uk)
Fencing

8th October (Taster)

1100-1400 Maiden Castle Fencing Salle Bryan Zhao (wang.b.chiu@durham.ac.uk)
9th October (Trial) 1900-2100
Football (m) 5th October 1730-1900 Maiden Castle 3G1 James Fairbrother (james.p.fairbrother@durham.ac.uk)
Football (w) 5th October 1530-1700 Maiden Castle 3G2 Emma Durham (emma.c.durham@durham.ac.uk) or Sasha Adamson (sasha.adamson@durham.ac.uk)
Gymnastics & Trampolining 9th October (Gymnastics) 2100-2200 Deerness Gymnastics Academy Harriet Freeman (harriet.s.freeman@durham.ac.uk) or Imogen Hamilton (imogen.g.hamilton@durham.ac.uk)
12th October (Trampolining) 2100-2200 Queens Campus Sports Hall
Golf 8th October (Provisional) TBC Brancepeth Castle Golf Club Harry Mayes (harry.mayes@durham.ac.uk) or Jamie Joshua (james.joshua@durham.ac.uk)
11th October (Provisional) TBC
15th October (Provisional) TBC
18th October (Provisional) TBC
Handball 10th October 1200-1400 Maiden Castle Sports Hall Lucas Palumbo (lucas.palumbo@durham.ac.uk)
Hockey 5th & 6th October 0900-1700 Maiden Castle Sand & Water Hockey Catorina McLellan (catriona.mclellan@durham.ac.uk)
Karate 7th October (Taster) 1400-1600 Hild Bede West Gym Will Zucker (william.zucker@durham.ac.uk)
Lacrosse (men) 5th October 1500-1630 Maiden Castle 3G1 Matthew Kemp (matthew.kemp@durham.ac.uk)
6th October 1400-1530 Maiden Castle 3G2
Lacrosse (women) 5th October (Taster) 1630-1800 Maiden Castle 3G1 Maisie Axon or Menna Rose (dulacrossecc@durham.ac.uk)
6th October (Trial) 1530-1700 Maiden Castle 3G2
Motorsport TBC TBC Warden Law Motorsport Centre Dan Burnett (daniel.burnett@durham.ac.uk)
Mountaineering 10th October (Taster) 1800 Durham Climbing Centre Clare Petrie (clare.e.petrie@durham.ac.uk)
19th October (Trial) 1900
Netball 4th October 1600-1800 Maiden Castle Sports Hall Bryony Freer (bryony.i.freer@durham.ac.uk)
6th October 1800-2000

Orienteering

8th October 1430-1600 Houghall Woods Matthew Foskett (matthew.g.foskett@durham.ac.uk)
11th October 1430-1600
Polo 15th October 1100 White Rose Polo Club Holly Gadsby (holly.j.gadsby@durham.ac.uk)
Rifles 4th October 1400-1700 Rifle Range, Green Lane

Tom Brabrook (thomas.brabrook@durham.ac.uk)

7th October
8th October
11 October
Rugby League 8th October 1100-1300 Maiden Castle 3G1 Rob Dessington (robert.s.dessington@durham.ac.uk)
Rugby Union (m) 5th October 1200-1400 Maiden Castle 3G1 & 3G2 Elliot Manley (elliot.manley@durham.ac.uk)
6th October 1200-1400
Rugby Union (w) 8th October 1400-1600 Maiden Castle 3G1 Lydia Harris (lydia.harris@durham.ac.uk)
Sailing 14th/15th or 21st/22nd October (Round 1) 0900-1700 Derwent Reservoir Maddie Harris (m.m.harris@durham.ac.uk)
28th/29th October (Round 2) 0900-1700
Ski & Snowboard 8th October TBC Silksworth Dry Slope Isabelle Tulip Wilson (i.t.wilson@durham.ac.uk)
Squash (m) 5th October 1500-1900 Maiden Castle Squash Courts Tandra Clayden (tandra.j.clayden@durham.ac.uk)
Squash (w) 5th October 1300-1500
Swimming TBC TBC Freeman's Quay Leisure Centre Jonathan Dixon (jonathan.m.dixon@durham.ac.uk) or Samara Ayvazian (samara.r.ayvazian-hancock@durham.ac.uk)
Table Tennis 6th October 1700-2000 Hild Bede East Jonny Higgins (jonathan.higgins@durham.ac.uk)
Taekwondo 9th October 1900 Freeman's Quay Leisure Centre George Dobson (g.n.dobson@durham.ac.uk)
12th October 1900 Howlands Hall, Josephine Butler
Tennis (m) 5th & 6th October 0900-1100 Maiden Castle Tennis Courts Jessica Ren (jessica.ren@durham.ac.uk)
Tennis (w) 5th & 6th October 1100-1300
Triathlon 9th October (Swim Taster) 0600 Freeman's Quay Leisure Centre Katy Hill (kathryn.l.hill@durham.ac.uk) or Sarah Kerr (sarah.kerr@durham.ac.uk)
10th October (Run Taster) 1800 Maiden Castle Track
11th October (Bike Taster) 1345 Trevelyan Car Park
Ultimate Frisbee 6th October 1600-1900 Whinney Hill Sam Brown (samuel.brown@durham.ac.uk)
Volleyball (m) 5th October 1800-2000

Maiden Castle Sports Hall (Court B)

Luke Collins (luke.collins@durham.ac.uk)
Volleyball (w) 5th October 2000-2200
Water Polo TBC TBC Freeman's Quay Leisure Centre Alex Kazmier (a.w.kazmier@durham.ac.uk)
Wheelchair Basketball 7th October (Taster) 1700-1800 Maiden Castle Sports Hall Amelia McLoughlan (a.c.mcloughlan@durham.ac.uk)