We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Palatinate Dinner and Awards Ceremony 2019

(11 June 2019)

It’s been another great season for Team Durham which culminated in a fantastic Palatinate Dinner and Awards Ceremony last night. 

The awards ceremony, held at Hardwick Hall and hosted by Team Durham President Will Richie-Moulin, started by recognising Max and Julie Coleby for their ‘special services to sport’. Max and Julie lead the Team Durham athletics programme on a voluntary basis, delivering five sessions a week, creating elaborate monthly training blocks and race plans, and who have organised and transported their athletes to the physio, hospital or to races all across the country.


The evening also involved all of Durham's talented and hard-working athletes being presented with Palatinates and Half-Palatinates, representing their commitment to and achievements within university sport. These awards are notoriously difficult to achieve, so all on the list should be commended for earning their colours.


Half Palatinates were awarded to:

Kate Brown, Anna Parker, Maddy Sands, Aashni Patel, Jenny Parkinson, Tom Whitting, Esther Anderson Leanne Anderson, Jonathan Pritchett, Chloe Halliwell, Christopher BaRker, Christopher Lennon, William Jolley, David Gomez-Tanamachi, Rose Grimshaw, Katharine Van Riper, Sarah Morrison, Alex Bushell, Bas Marshall, Rebecca Ewbank, Rebecca Ward, Lorna Cruickshank, Louisa Bray, Charlotte Childs, Oliver Paradise, Ellie Falkingham, Brian Smyth, Philip West, Siman Wannagat, Livy Shellekens, Christian Blackaby, Jack Powis and Charles Smith, Rebecca Edgar, Anna Hunt, Sophie Mcfarlane and Molly Axelby, Clodagh Cronin, Lydia Otulakowski, Natalie Kidd, Alice Digby, Nick Hilee and Cameron Gibb, Brad Gartland, James Bailey, Rebecca Reid, Holly Holder, Jonny Higgins, Milan Rakic, Aimee Pugsley and Paul Midgley, Izzy Holt, Maria Genitsaridi and Eleni Papaioannou.


Full Palatinates were awarded to:

Ching Ho Li, Tilly Foster, George Lord, Annie Getley, Natasha Otley Kerr, Georgie Boardman, Beth Blacklock, Erin Thompson


The evening culminated in the presentation of a final 6 prestigious awards; Sportsman/ woman of the year, the two performances of the year, team of the year and club of the year. It is always difficult to choose one individual athlete/ club or performance amongst an outstanding cohort. There are many athletes that deserve recognition for their achievements this season, but unfortunately there are not enough awards to go around.


Sportsman of the year: Josh Basham (Rugby Union)

Sportswoman of the year: Tess Howard (Hockey)

Individual performance of the year: Sophie Shams (Rugby Union)

Team performance of the year: M1s Football

Team of the year: Volleyball W1s

Club of the year: Women’s Lacrosse

Team Durham President, Will Richie- Moulin's closing words were; ‘This year has been a real pleasure, being able to stay in Durham for another three terms working for Team Durham. It’s been fantastic to see the positive effects sport can have, and the exceptional results which hard work and dedication can produce across the board.’

Congratulations to all of the award winners and to all those that were nominated. A great way to end to a great season and we look forward to what the future will hold for Team Durham and it’s athletes.



Durham University Performance Programmes