We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

College Sport

Collingwood Cricket Claim Indoor Title

(9 May 2017)

With all 3 Collingwood teams reaching the indoor cricket quarter finals, Collingwood A went the distance to cap off another strong indoor season for Collingwood College Cricket Club.

After a fairly comfortable group stage during 2nd term for Collingwood A, the knockout stages of the infamous Indoor Trophy had come around, and like the year previous, all three Collingwood teams found themselves in the quarter finals. The Stags were hoping to go one better than last year though, and win the tournament outright.

The A team were the first to compete in a quarter final. In a close game, opponents Cuth’s required 9 to win off the final over. Cometh the hour, cometh the man. 5 required off the final ball to win it. 3 runs were scored. Riley had a shy at the stumps, and drama unfolded as it missed and cannoned off the back wall, rewarding the opposition with an extra run. The scores were tied. Fortuitously, Collingwood had lost fewer wickets anyway and progressed to the semi-final stage by the skin of their teeth. 

The only unbeaten Collingwood side from the group stages were the C team, last year’s finalists, and they were hoping to defy their letter and outdo the teams above them. Unfortunately, it did not go as planned. A strong Grey A outfit overcame the Cs convincingly, and it was left to the Bs. However, the same fate befell the Bs, who got comfortably outscored by John Snow A.

Not the day the Hill Kings hoped for, the hopes and dreams of the Collingwood faithful rested upon the shoulders of the As who would compete a week later in a hotly anticipated finals day.

Saturday came around, and the 6-man strong team of Smiley Riley, Matt Douglas, Sam Gemmill, Will Rowell, Will Hodges and Ollie Godden took on the John Snow side who had slayed the mighty Bs just a week before.

Batting first, Collingwood made light work of the John Snow openers, Rowell and Douglas bludgeoning quarter centuries and retiring. Inconsistent bowling aided the total, and the scores finished 110-2 off the 10 overs. 

Gemmill made a fantastic start with the new ball, conceding just 8 runs from his two overs. Hodges, too, kept things tight conceding just 18 from his overs of spin. Riley and Godden tied things up, the former the pick of the
bowlers with figures of 2-1-6-2. Snow were bowled for 70 – the dream was still alive.

An hour rest break ensued while the second semi took place between Grey and Aidens. Grey managed to defend 80 and booked their place in the final.

Collingwood bowled first and were challenged by the impressive footwork of the Grey openers. 4 overs in, one of the openers was dropped at short mid-wicket, before hauling at down longish on the next ball. The fightback was on. Riley and Godden again came into the attack, the latter going for 18 runs of his two overs, while Riley cleaned up the proverbial tail.

Collingwood needed 98 runs to win.

Gemmill chipped in with a crucial 19 before being trapped LBW, a harsh adjudication. Rowell, dubbed “quite the B team sportsman” by Hodges, defied his critics and scored another 25, while wicketkeeper-batsman Douglas stepped in and rotated the strike, scoring a quick fire 15. Hodges tried to win the game with two foul swoops, but was caught. Godden came in and ramped his first ball, leaving Douglas to do the honours and seal the fate. With 4 balls left of the final over, Douglas, easily mistaken for Collingwood Alumni James Foster, tickled one into the leg side, and scampered through for a run.

Collingwood had done it. Champions and now current holders of all three cricket competitions.